The museum is home to an astonishing number of historical items, photographs, and displays.  The first floor gallery is dedicated to the paintings of Archibald Willard, artist of the famed “Spirit of ’76”.  Also on display are several objects related to this well-known painting and artist.

The second floor hosts a variety of displays including military items from the War of 1812 to the Civil War to the present. The third floor showcases tools, clothing, and artifacts, many dating from the 1800’s.  These pieces belonged to professionals, business owners, farmers, and homemakers from the area.

The museum provides a fascinating look at the history of Wellington and southern Lorain County..

Underground Railroad related: The museum is located a short distance from the site of the 1858 Wellington–Oberlin Slave Rescue, the former American House Hotel. The Museum houses hundreds of artifacts related to the rescue, the Civil War and more. You’ll find original photos of the Rescuers, court proceedings related to them and a bust of the revolutionary abolitionist John Brown, who led the Harpers Ferry raid.

Open April 1 – October 31


Saturday & Sunday, 1:00 PM to 3:30 PM
Group Tours by Appointment. Elevator available.
Donations for Admission Appreciated!

Experience Lorain County Online