Visit the Oberlin Heritage Center to explore the history of this small town with nationally significant stories. Founded in 1833 as a Christian colony, Oberlin’s earliest residents valued simple living. In the same year, Oberlin College was the first coeducational institution of higher learning in the nation and soon after was also the first college to have a policy of accepting students regardless of race. Oberlin was well-known during the anti-bellum era as a hotbed of abolition and hub of Underground Railroad activity. Oberlin was also the boyhood home of Charles Martin Hall, the founder of the Aluminum Company of America (ALCOA).
Learn about these stories and more while taking a guided tour of the Oberlin Heritage Center’s three beautifully preserved buildings, available year-round. In the warmer months, visitors can also join us on one of several themed history walks. Topics include the Underground Railroad in Oberlin, the Civil War, picturesque Westwood Cemetery, Oberlin’s downtown history and architecture, and Oberlin women’s history. These walks are also available to youth and adult groups by reservation.
Please check the website www.oberlinheritagecenter.org or email firstname.lastname@example.org for a schedule and tour information.
Office and Museum Store open year round Tues.-Sat. 10:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m.
Guided Tours offered Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays at 10:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. Walk-ins welcome.
The business address is 73 1/2 South Professor St. When using GPS or online mapping use the parking lot address, 20 West Vine Street. The lot is behind Midas Muffler at the corner of Main Street (St. Route 58) and Vine Street at the south end of downtown Oberlin.
Events on October 24, 2018
Request a Visit Lorain County Travel Guide