The mission of the Lorain Historical Society is to preserve and interpret the history of the City of Lorain and to share that history with the public through education and the preservation of historical artifacts.
Formerly known as the Black River Historical Society, it was located at the Moore House at 5th Street and Reid Ave. in Lorain, and was the home of Mayor Moore and his family in the 1920’s. This beautifully restored house museum is a wonderful place to visit to experience that period of time in Lorain’s History. Tours are available on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 10 am – 3 pm and arranged by appointment. Please note that there are steps to climb to view the upper levels of the museum. Tour Fee: $3 per adult; $1 for students (ages 6 -18); free for children under age 6, but must be accompanied by an adult
The name of the organization was officially changed in 2013. A collaboration between the Lorain Historical Society, the Administration of the City of Lorain, Lorain City Council and the Lorain Port Authority led to the purchase of the original Lorain Carnegie Library building at 10th St. and Streator Park. Now called the Carnegie Center, this magnificent historical building serves as not only the administrative center for the organization, but also a community meeting place, location of artifacts, news articles and photographs, as well as a gift shop filled with Lorain-inspired merchandise.
The Carnegie Center is currently in Phase 2 of renovation and is closed to the public. The Administrative Offices can be reached at (440) 245-2563.
Events on February 28, 2020
Request a Visit Lorain County Travel Guide